Ghana Travel News – Travel News | Airline Industry News | Aviation News | Hotel Industry News | Events | Destinations and more.
Awards Events

Event: Finalists of 1st Africa Tourism Leadership Awards announced…

The finalists in all nine (9) categories of the inaugural Pan-African Tourism Leadership Awards have been announced by the Co-chairpersons of the awards committee; Prof. Marina Novelli and Ms. Judy Kepher-Gona, following criteria and process verification by Grant Thornton.

Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony to be held on 31 August, 2018 in Accra, Ghana. “The Awards seek to recognize and celebrate countries, governments, organisations and individuals for their innovation and outstanding accomplishments in tourism development across Africa,” said Professor Marina Novelli, Co-chairperson of the Awards Committee. “We believe the efforts of these finalists will continue to empower our local communities,” underscores Ms. Judy Kepher-Gona, her colleague Co-chairperson.

The three (3) short-listed finalists for each of the nine (9) categories are presented below in no particular order:

1. Leading in Progressive Policies’ Award
• Namibia Ministry of Environment and Tourism
• Rwanda Development Board
• Seychelles Tourism Board/Tourism Ministry Responsible for Tourism
2. Outstanding Entrepreneurship Award
• Ikechi Uko, Akwaaba Travel Fair – Nigeria
• Lipian Bongani Mtandabari – Phezulu Safaris (PRIVATE) Limited Zimbabwe.
• Kehinde, Michael Oluwadamilare – Discoveria
3. Women in Leadership Award
• Carmen Nibigira – Burundi
• Rosette Chantal Rugamba – Rwanda
• Jacinta Nzioka – Kenya

Director of Marketing at the Kenya Tourism Board, Mrs Jacinta Nzioka

4. Most Innovative Business Tourism Destination Award
• Kigali City – Rwanda
• South Africa
• Western Cape and Cape Town – South Africa

5. Outstanding Accommodation Facility/ Group Award
• & Beyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge -Tanzania
• &Beyond Group – Southern Africa
• SABI SABI Private Game Reserve- South Africa
6. Outstanding Tourism Transportation Award
• FlySafair – South Africa
• South African Airways – South Africa
• Ethiopian Airways – Ethiopia

7. Outstanding Africa Tourism Media Award
• Katchie Nzama – South Africa
• Voyages Afriq Media Limited – Ghana
• Kehinde, Michael Oluwadamilare – Discoveria
8. Championing Sustainability Award
• Botswana Tourism Board/Botswana Ministry Responsible for Tourism
• Seychelles Tourism Board
• Wilderness Safaris – Southern Africa

9. Destination Africa – Lifetime Award
• Late Russel Friedman of Wilderness Safaris – South Africa
• Mandela and Nelson Mandela Foundation –South Africa
• Late Professor Wangari Muta Maathai – Kenya

“The Africa Tourism Leadership Awards provide a novel approach to recognizing change-makers who inspire transformation across Africa’s tourism industry,” highlighted Ms. Christelle Grohmann of Grant Thornton.


Related posts

Tourism: Ghana Chef association President steps into the Accra Weizo Controversy on the licensing of Chefs in Africa…

NAFAC 2019 to open in Koforidua

Visit – IMF boss advocates for more sustainable way in supporting free education…

Leave a Comment